E61 espresso machines vs La Marzocco Linea Mini?

Recommendations for buyers and upgraders from the site's members.
PhotoMax

#1: Post by PhotoMax »

I bought a new E61 machine about a week ago and so far I am not in love. I had several great shots but lots of channeling, spritzing, mess, etc, even though I did pretty much the same routine each time. (I have been using a Silvia for eight years). Now the brew boiler does not seem to do anything: very little coffee comes out, no crema, no movement on the pressure gauge, no pump sound. I did the backflush thing and still no go. The milk wand and hot water wand work just fine though. This all might be a bad case of newbie-itus but I am frustrated and disappointed thus far. I have been a using a Rocky grinder but a new K30 should be here in about a week.

I am waiting to hear from the place I purchased this, but I am thinking I should try another machine. I wonder if the La Marzocco Linea Mini might be a better option for me?

SonVolt

#2: Post by SonVolt »

No it won't be a better option unless you want to steam milk quicker or serve more drinks per hour. Your machine class is fine - it's either defective or you haven't learned how to properly use it yet. Very rarely in my experience does a professional barista produce a better shot on a commercial La Marzocco (or any other machine) than I can at home with my E61.

Bikeminded

#3: Post by Bikeminded »

The Rocky is an issue, speaking from my own experiences.
Was my worst purchase on my espresso equipment buying history. Sold it and bought an HG1.

PhotoMax (original poster)

#4: Post by PhotoMax (original poster) »

Thanks.