Is my setup OK?! Gaggia Classic / Rocky MD40 grinder

Recommendations for buyers and upgraders from the site's members.
Gabbio

#1: Post by Gabbio »

I am new in the espresso world, but totally fall in love!!
I bought a used Gaggia classic for aprox 200$ have decent shot from it but milk frothing is horrible( milky drinks only for my gf and visitors)
I also have a pretty good deal (i think) for a slightly use rancilio rocky MD 40 commercial grinder with doser( i removed the doser)
I want to know from you guys if my setup seems ok, i would like to upgrade the espresso machine for a DB for nice frothing , but also for temp adjust , looks and feel of a big machine.
Read a lots of post here , and i am slowly but surely attract by de DBD even if it dosnt look as nice as a brewtus iv or a rocket etc.. In canada there is not a lot of used or refurb machine so you have to buy new , and the machine or more expensive than in the us for example a brewtus IV is 2500$.
I found a Brewtus III 6 years used for 1250$ CAD
My question does i go DBD , high end New DB or used brewtus III

Another question is : does my grinder is an equivalent of a super jolly? I dont find a lot of review of it? I think it is a 900$ US commercial grinder and i find that it works pretty well but i never try something else!?!
Thanks for your help! And sorry for my english ( i'm a french canadian :wink:

ira
Team HB

#2: Post by ira »

I've had a Brewtus for years and it's a perfectly serviceable E-61 dual boiler. Parts are east to come by, it's well documented and it make a fine espresso. I think $1250 might be more than you need to pay. Not really sure about that, but at 6 years you should assume it needs descaling and new gaskets everywhere. If it doesn't, be happy, but be prepared for that and pay as if it's necessary. Espresso machines are commonly not well cared for.