Deciding on La Marzocco Linea Mini, GS3, or used two group GB5

Recommendations for buyers and upgraders from the site's members.
charlesaf3

#1: Post by charlesaf3 »

Any followup on the La Marzocco Linea Mini Review after another 4 months have passed?

I'm on the fence between Linea Mini, GS3, and used 2 group GB 5. I care about it being forgiving, as I'm not a pro, but I have been pulling shots for 15 years now and only use bottomless portafilters to keep me honest, so I'm in decent control of channeling.

Been thinking about La Marzocco since I was originally part of the GS3 wait list debacle. Probably ready to pull the trigger, but can't really tell the difference between Gs3 and Linea Mini? Are the bells and whistles given up by the linea meaningful, or not?

And is the Linea mini basically equal in all meaningful respects to a commercial machine (meaning on a 2 lattes a day or so basis). (flavor/shot/steaming wise).

I'm looking for a "last" machine. I plan on plumbing it in. I don't care about wiring 220 etc. etc. as I own a construction company and that stuff is really cheap for me.

So I'm also thinking used 2 group GB5 - downside is counter space...

Thanks in advance.

HB
Admin

#2: Post by HB »

Sorry, the research phase is over since both Chris and I have returned the Linea Mini loaners:
malachi wrote:One note: I want to thank Dan for inviting me back to write this review, and Scott Callender from La Marzocco for agreeing to provide the machine to me for this. And I want to thank all the mods here who provided input, advice and feedback on my drafts throughout the process. Y'all rule. Thanks. It's been a great experience.
I plan on publishing a shortform version of Chris' review for easy perusal, but his conclusion is clear:
malachi wrote:This is a barista's espresso machine. If you're a barista, first and foremost, I'm going to predict you're likely to love it.
I agree with him.
Dan Kehn

Compass Coffee

#3: Post by Compass Coffee »