Commercial vs. Home Espresso Grinders

Recommendations for buyers and upgraders from the site's members.
Javierati

#1: Post by Javierati »

Hello All (newbie here),

First of all, let me say that this website has been great. I have learned so much about what the different aspects of what good espresso making is. From the espresso machine, to the grinder, to the coffee to the roasting process. Can't say how many hours I have spent watching videos and reading comments. Awesome.

Well, now that I am very close to pulling the trigger on a espresso machine + grinder combination I want to cross some t's and dot those i's. I have read a significant number of posts that state, Grinder! Grinder! Grinder!. With the motto in mind I went to the very best (at least by many in HB standards) the Malkonig K30. I have this grinder quoted and in line for purchase but before I pull the trigger I wanted to know what I am gaining with this grinder compared to a Baratza Forte. The price difference is significant as well as the real estate space on my counter. Also, I will only use this equipment for my home, 3-4 espresso per day, no rush setting. How much bang for the buck Im I getting by going from the Forte to the Malhkonig?

All I care is the value in the cup (not so much the speed).

Thanks in advance!

Javier

stinkyonion

#2: Post by stinkyonion »

If you want the K30 then should wait another month and get the Mahlkonig Peak. Im waiting for it too. Or at least better info that might make me rule it out.

canuckcoffeeguy

#3: Post by canuckcoffeeguy »

It's important to consider how you're planning on using the grinder? Single dosing vs. Hopper feeding?

Some grinders do both well. Others are better suited for one or the other.

I only single dose. I change beans A LOT. And I'm the only coffee drinker in my house. So hopper feeding doesn't make sense for me.

But if you make many successive shots, and stick with one bean for a while, hopper feeding might be the trick.