Beginner looking for home espresso machine/grinder - budget $1500-2000

Recommendations for buyers and upgraders from the site's members.
Alexey

#1: Post by Alexey »

Hello guys,

I'm a beginner in espresso area but I really enjoy the process of making, latte art etc ...
Decided to create a little coffee space in the house, will be very happy if you can suggest me how to start and right equipment.

1. Most of the time 1-2 cups of milk based drinks.
2. Sometimes need to make around 6 cups for invited friends.
3. Semi-auto sounds good to me but I'm open to any suggestions.
4. 1500-2000 usd for full setup with grinder budget.
5. I never drink shots, most of the time it's milk based.
6. I'll be happy if that equipment will help me to understand how it's working and get experience at home before we'll start our commercial activity also, so some sort of training station also.

Thank you! :D

pacificmanitou

#2: Post by pacificmanitou »

Alexey wrote: 6. I'll be happy if that equipment will help me to understand how it's working and get experience at home before we'll start our commercial activity also, so some sort of training station also.
Wait... you're going to go commercial later? you own a shop? what does this mean?

As far as home use goes, when making milk drinks, you need a machine that can simultaneously brew and steam. A lot of home machines have trouble doing this for more than a couple drinks, so your 6 person parties wouldn't work well. There are machines that do what you want (DB machines) but they easily exceed your budget, or leave no room for a grinder. My immediate thought was a lever. A Ponte Vecchio Lusso from 1st line will do what you need with ease. There is a detailed review on HB of the machine.

/ponte-vecc ... eview.html