Baratza Vario next step, $1500 budget?

Recommendations for buyers and upgraders from the site's members.
GrainBrewer

#1: Post by GrainBrewer »

I've had a Vario and a Duetto II for almost two years. I'm a newbie and still learning, but I've kind of hit a ceiling. I've been frustrated with the slipping settings on the Vario and it seems that even with the same settings, I'll have completely different results some days with the same coffee.

It seems like there are about a 3 dozen in the $500 range that wouldn't be a step up, a few at $875 - $1000 like the Mazzer Mini electronic and Super Jolly, but again, reviews don't sound like this would be a giant leap from the Vario. To make that leap, it looks like everything is either $1500 (Kony, K30, K8 fresh, Ceado E10), or $2000+ (K10 fresh, Robur, Kony electric).

So I just don't know where to start, in my ignorance. I just can't see spending two grand on a coffee grinder, but I don't want to spend $1000 and not have a perceptible improvement in my pulls. I would consider the HG-One, but I don't think my wife would be happy with a manual grinder, at least not at $1K.

Any suggestions?

TomC
Team HB

#2: Post by TomC »

Cant tell which model this is, but there's a Compak available in your city on Craigslist that is brand new and very cheap. * Edit, I'm pretty sure its a K3

http://louisville.craigslist.org/bfs/4049280538.html

There's also two mint looking Mazzer Super Jolly's on there too. One's asking $350, the other, $325.

You should put your biggest stake towards the best grinder you can. They pay their dividends every day.