Baratza Preciso or Sette or Vario, or just a Breville?

Recommendations for buyers and upgraders from the site's members.
TundraSpyder

#1: Post by TundraSpyder »

So the quest for my first grinder continues.
Choices are rocky, Vario, sette, or just try a breville 820 smart grinder to learn?

None are ideal. The preciso appeared to be ideal but it has been discontinued. I need the smaller foot print on the counter.

That being said, I found a preciso new in a box and I am wondering if it is worth the $349 price tag they are asking?
Or for that price, just get an unattractive rocky, or buy the new sette.

I am just learning, have a gaggia classic and will grind for espresso and also for chemex.

TundraSpyder (original poster)

#2: Post by TundraSpyder (original poster) »

Ok cant figure how to edit the post. After some reading I have ruled out the Rocky.

So I guess the question is:
Is a Preciso worth $350 or are they asking too much.
Is the Sette a wiser investment, or should I just make the wife angry and order a Vario?

Or save all that, get a Breville and plan on upgrading later if I stick with it?

LukeFlynn

#3: Post by LukeFlynn »

I would say definitely do not buy a Preciso for $350. You can get a refurbished Vario for LESS, or a refurb Vario with Steel Burrs for nearly the same price direct from baratza.. this would be my choice for drip.

For espresso, I would say discount the Rocky, skip the expensive Preciso, and get the Sette which has received great reviews for espresso.

tglodjo

#4: Post by tglodjo »