Advice for lever espresso machine newbie, budget $1000 or less?

Recommendations for buyers and upgraders from the site's members.
laelpowers

#1: Post by laelpowers »

Hi all,

I'm looking to buy my first lever machine and could use some advice. I have some limited experience with the mechanics of shot-pulling (I worked at a coffee shop 20 years ago) so I am comfortable experimenting with grind and tamp. I am much less comfortable with elements like water pressure and temperature adjustment, but am willing to learn. That being said, ease of use and maintenance are my primary concerns.

My budget is $1,000 or less. I've been leaning toward the La Pavoni but hear that some models (the Strad in particular) have leakage issues. I'm looking for something not too large.

What would you recommend for a novice? I want this to be a forever machine, I'm not looking to upgrade later.

drgary
Team HB

#2: Post by drgary »

Are you only interested in buying a new machine? Does your budget include a grinder?
Gary
LMWDP#308

What I WOULD do for a good cup of coffee!

laelpowers (original poster)

#3: Post by laelpowers (original poster) »

My budget for a grinder is separate and I was looking at the Baratza Encore but I'm open to suggestions.

I'm planning on a new espresso machine simply because I don't want to have to deal with refurbishing one while I'm still learning how they work.

Compass Coffee

#4: Post by Compass Coffee »

laelpowers wrote:My budget for a grinder is separate and I was looking at the Baratza Encore but I'm open to suggestions.
Encore OK for gravity brew (ok not great) but pretty worthless for espresso. Preciso the bare minimum Baratza grinder for espresso duties. I'd consider waiting for the release of the Baratza Sette in a couple months. Pre-release field testing looking like it may be the best budget espresso grinder option.
Mike McGinness

forbeskm

#5: Post by forbeskm »